How Can I Help?

This project needs your help. Please write and call our elected and city officials voicing your support!

Please consider writing the Planning Board, Town Council and Staff to encourage the town to “do the right thing” in clearly allowing a pathway for well planned, well- regulated and coordinated mixed-use walkable development that reduces the reliance on vehicular travel, and encourages an outdoor and pedestrian-friendly lifestyle community.

This Text Amendment district (MPVD) is a necessary step for us to have the tools to create Summerfield Farms Village. Our community influence is more important than ever in showing support of this district and understanding the need for this district to provide options for downsizer housing, elderly care housing, and housing for young working families and service workers as our town grows and matures.

This district will allow our town to think strategically about town building when considering zoning of land and housing costs. The proposed UDO creates high land development costs, strict open space requirements, and large minimum lot sizes for all types of housing. These stringent guidelines do not sufficiently provide for clustering, preservation of rural vistas and long views, and lack the tools necessary for sustainable land planning, as the Comprehensive Plan states.

Email All    Email Town Council & Support Staff    Email Planning Board and Support Staff

(Click on the email addresses below to email members individually)

 

Mayor: BJ Barnes (Current term ends 12/2021)
(home) 336-643-5972
(email) bbarnes@summerfieldnc.gov

 

Mayor Pro-Tem: Tim Sessoms (Current term ends 12/2021)
(mobile) 336-803-0322
(email) tsessoms@summerfieldnc.gov

 

Council member: Lynne Williams DeVaney (Current term ends 12/2023)
(mobile) 336-215-5335
(email) ldevaney@summerfieldnc.gov

 

Council member: John O’Day (Current term ends 12/2023)
(mobile) 336-392-6517
(email) joday@summerfieldnc.gov

 

Council member: Teresa Perryman (Current term ends 12/2021)
(home) 336-643-2610
(email) tperryman@summerfieldnc.gov

 

Council member: Reece Walker (Current term ends 12/2023)
(mobile) 336-706-3195
(email) rwalker@summerfieldnc.gov

 

Richard L. (Dick) Feulner, Chair (Current term ends 7/2024)
(home) 336-643-5680
(email) DFeulner@triad.rr.com

 

George (Jeff) Davis, Vice-Chair (Current term ends 7/2023)
(mobile) 610-308-0958
(email) GJD8650@aol.com

 

Kathy Rooney (Current term ends 7/2022)
(mobile) 336-643-7878
(email) info@rolfingassociates.com

 

Trudy Whitacre (Current term ends 7/2024)
(home) 336-643-2131
(email) tkwhitacre@gmail.com

 

Walter Doggett (Clark) (Current term ends 10/2023)
(home) 336-202-8899
(cell) KG4HOM@hotmail.com

 

ALTERNATES
Clint Babcock (Current term ends 7/2023)
(home) 336-918-0256
(email) clint@vettedude.com

 

STAFF
Chris York, Town Planner
(work) 336-643-8681
(email) cyork@summerfieldnc.gov

 

 

Lance Heater, Town Clerk
(work) 336-643-8655
(email) clerk@summerfieldnc.gov

 

 

Bob Hornik, Town Attorney